Homeschooling Plans: First Grade

2 Comments

I took the plunge a few weeks ago and ordered a syllabus for first grade. Logan will be beginning this September, just after his 7th birthday. He is over-the-moon excited by this!

DSC_0008

DSC_0009
I was astonished at how thick the whole package ended up being. It looks incredibly thorough. I’ve since been sitting down with it on a near daily basis to try and read through it a little bit at a time. I’m trying to figure out the scheduling, and how to work out a daily plan. As I’m learning – I almost need those little daily task lists in order to keep on target. I’m considering going through and sort of “doing” the lessons, so I can reacquaint my mind with the work of a first grader, and learn how the first grade is done in Waldorf Education. So far I am in love with how Donna Simmons has put this entire thing together.

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

Ever since we got the paints, Lilly has been asking me repeatedly if she could paint. I need to get a ton of painting paper ordered, as well as two or three paintbrushes. I also need to go by a hardware store and pick up some sheets of plywood so I can make some painting boards!

2 thoughts on “Homeschooling Plans: First Grade

  1. Hey! Finally got my computer back(and it’s working for now, though I suspect the fan is on its way out for good)and got caught up on this blog. Your curriculum looks interesting, I`d love to hear more about it, especially as you start using it with him this fall. I`m just in the midst of figuring out which option we`re going to use with E for kindergarten. Things have changed a lot since I was a homeschool kid myself!

    • Its great to see you back here in blogland! 🙂 I’m hoping that I can take myself through it and kind of share my thoughts on the curriculum as I go. It looks VERY complete and well put together, which I’m really enjoying.

      And I agree – things have changed quite a bit since even *I* was home schooled! There are SO many more options out there. I will admit: this curriculum is a little pricey compared to some of the others, but I’m starting to save through the year for grade 2, so it won’t be quite so “aahh!” to the pocketbook all at once.

Leave a Reply

