On the reading list

Leave a comment

DSC_0050
I’ve read Radical Homemakers before, on the kindle. It must have been a couple of years ago now, really. But I wanted to reread through it, and just couldn’t get back into it on an electronic base. So I went onto amazon and found a used copy for a few pennies and made her mine. Now I just need to find a highlighter, because the urge to highlight is still incredibly strong.

Nourishing Traditions is another book I’ve had on my kindle for a long time, but just couldn’t get through. It turns out that I can read fiction books just fine on a kindle. But put a non-fiction book in front of me that I want to read for substance and memory…I just can’t do it. (Which means I’ll eventually probably order Masanobu Fukuoka’s book One Straw Revolution sometime in order to be able to really read it.) And honestly..well, again, with the highlighter.

Long Way On A Little. I’ve had my eye on this cookbook since it came out. I finally ordered it when I kept reading positive things about it. I’m glad I did, because a lot of the recipes sound extremely tasty!

Whole Larder Love. Oh, man. I love Rohan’s blog (of the same name), the things he talks about, the recipes he gives, you name it. So I’ve been biding my time until we finally had a little bit of extra money in order to get his book. And it is definitely not disappointing! Truman looked through it while he was home, and had a little bit of extra inspiration in getting his first firearm saved up for. (He wants a basic .22 rifle for hunting small game. Though first is going to be a lot of killing targets!)

DSC_0039
I got my issue of Taproot this afternoon. I’ve flicked through it once already, and I’m anticipating being able to go a little more slowly through it over the next few days or even weeks.

DSC_0041
And a little bit of homework for myself. I signed up last week for the Waldorf Homeschool-U course given by Donna at The Waldorf Connection. I’ve just finished going through week 1 items, and tomorrow I’m going to start on week 2. I have high hopes that this, in conjunction with the information I’ve gotten from the Christopherus curriculum, I’ll be able to put together our plans for grade 1 with relative ease!

Leave a Reply

